Gouri Kund

While proceeding downwards from Dolma - La (Dolma Pass), a steep descent to Gouri Kund at 5608 m, also called the Lake of compassion as referred to in the shiva Purana this is the setting for the legend of Parvati and how Ganesh acquired his elephant head bathing in the emerald waters of the kund, Parvati fashioned an image of Ganesh from the soap suds on her body, breathed life into it and placed it at the entrance of her home to prevent anyone entering. Lord Shiva happened to return at this point of time and was stopped by Ganesha. Indignant at this affront, shiva cut off the boy's head. Pravati was inconsolable and insisted that the boy be brought back to life shiva took the head of a wandering elephant and placed it on the body. Life was restored and Parvati had her son back.

Char Dham Yatra

Duration : 11 Nights/12 Days
Location : Delhi - Haridwar - Rishikesh - Hanumanchatti - Yamunotri - Gangotri - Kedarnath - Badrinath - Rishikesh - Delhi

Detailed Itinerary

Day 01 - Delhi - Haridwar - Rishikesh :
Depart for Haridwar - 'the gateway to Gods'. In the evening depart for aarti at 'Har ki Pauri'. Rishikesh - as name suggests - land of rishis/yogis. Depart for Lakshaman Jhula and adjacent temples, Swarg Ashram, Geeta Bhawan and Muni ki Reti. Overnight stay at the hotel.

Day 02 - Rishikesh - Hanumanchatti - Yamunotri :
Early morning depart for Hanumanchatti - 13 kms trek to Yamunotri starts from here.

Day 03 - Yamunotri :
Here the Temple Yamuna ji is main temple of worship. Adjacent to temple are some hot water springs amongst which 'Surya-Kund' is the most important. Other places of interest are Divya-Shila, Jamuna bai Kund.

Day 04 - Yamunotri - Gangotri :
Depart for Gangotri - Where the Ganga descended on earth. Visit the famous 'Bhagirathi temple', Temple of Ganga and few ashrams and dharmshalas.

Day 05 - Gangotri :
Full day free in Gangotri. Overnight stay at hotel.

Day 06 - Gangotri - Kedarnath :
Depart for Kedarnath - the abode of Shiva. Visit the Kedarnath temple where the hinder part of Buffalo (when Shiva changed itself into the form of a buffalo, when bhim was chasing him.) In the evening depart for Badrinath.

Day 07 - Kedarnath :
Full day free at Kedarnath. Overnight stay at hotel.

Day 08 - Kedarnath - Badrinath :
Afternoon depart for Badrinath via Rudraprayag. Arrive Badrinath transfer to hotel.

Day 09 - Badrinath :
Finally, the reward of it all - you have reached the Dham. Transfer to hotel. Depart for visit to Temple of Badrinath.

Day 10 - Badrinath :
Depart for visit to morning puja at Badrinath.

Day 11 - Badrinath - Rishikesh :
Morning after breakfast drive to Rishikesh. Overnight stay at the hotel.

Day 12 - Rishikesh - Delhi :
Depart from Rishikesh to Delhi via Rishikesh.